Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2016, 02:11 PM   #1
Forum Member

Setting problem with adapted lenses

hi

i am pretty new to pentax, having my ks2 about a month or two. i have a bunch of legacy glass, including for the old kodak retina series. i have a dkl>pk adapter and had been shooting the 50/1.8 in Tav mode, so that i could adjust the SS whilst the camera set the iso and i set the aperture manually. ive done this lots on other cameras and there is no issue metering. the results i got back from the ks2 after a few shoots were fine, with it operating similarly to what i had come to expect from the other digicams ive used in this way.

for some reason when i tried today to shoot this lens i kept getting AV (aperture priority) setting showing up in my screen regardless of what setting i had on the dial. so Tv, Tav, Sv all showed up as Av on my screen, thus precluding me from setting the SS. moreover, while the M setting let me set the SS, the camera refused to meter, so i had no idea how my SS/iso manual settings were effecting exposure.

can anyone help me understand what happened here?

thank you very much in advance.

04-10-2016, 02:23 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
To be able to use Tv, Sv, or TAv mode the camera has to be able to control the aperture (so this is not an option with non A-type lenses). That's why the camera is displaying all those modes as Av.

If you want the camera to meter properly, you have to use M mode with any manual lens that has an automatic diaphragm (i.e. manual K-mount lenses, or adapted lenses with an aperture coupler). Lenses with a manual diaphragm (such as M42 lenses) can also be used in Av mode, since the viewfinder darkens with the aperture ring, and stop-down metering is thus not necessary.

Here are the steps you need to follow in order to get everything to work