Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-11-2016, 07:33 PM   #1

Time for an upgrade?

Hello all,

I've been looking around at what Pentax has been putting out in more recent years (k-5iis/k3ii) and even what other brands have been doing and thinking that maybe my camera (k5) might be getting a little outdated in terms of specifications. I'm somewhat new in the world of photography, it started as a hobby, and now I'm doing work for my college's newspaper. I guess my question is whether or not my camera is considered obsolete in today's day and age as for what people are looking for in image quality and performance. I am happy with a decent amount of the pictures I take, but I can't help think that there's a better camera out there to do the job. I like to photograph sports, wildlife, and landscapes.

Thoughts?

Arden

Ps:
I should also add that the only lenses I own for it are the 18-55 wr and 50-200 wr. Maybe time for a new lens, too?

Last edited by arden_clark; 04-11-2016 at 07:43 PM.
04-11-2016, 07:47 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Arden,
Welcome to the forums! The K5 is still a great camera. If I were you my first step could be investing in some better faster glass. That is the best money I have spent when it comes to camera equipment.
Jeff
04-11-2016, 07:55 PM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by arden_clark Quote
I should also add that the only lenses I own for it are the 18-55 wr and 50-200 wr. Maybe time for a new lens, too?
If would start by adding a new lens or two, or perhaps by replacing your current lenses entirely. A nice replacement for the 18-55mm would be the 16-85mm:
HD Pentax-DA 16-85mm F3.5-5.6 Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews