Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2016, 09:09 AM   #1

Flash sync with pop-up

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to flash and for the sake of learning and some creative inquiry would like to play with the pop-up flash faster than the 1/180 limit. I normally shoot in manual but even here the K50 adjusts to 1/180 when I pop up the flash. I've seen some wireless mode options and so on which might offer something but wanted some more seasoned advice before I possibly wasted my time.

Is there a way around this? I'm glad it does this but would sure appreciate a setting somewhere which would keep it from preventing the settings I choose.

My alternative is to use a basic manual flash but I seem to have misplaced mine just in time to experiment with this.

Thanks!

06-01-2016, 09:15 AM   #2
retired nerd
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It might help if you could tell us why you want a speed faster than 1/180.
06-01-2016, 09:20 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

1/180s is the flash sync speed. You can't go higher and expect uniform exposure, hence the camera enforces the limit.

The only way around this would be HSS (high speed sync), which is supported by modern Pentax flash units.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

06-01-2016, 09:23 AM   #4
Pentaxian

As Adam said, the popup flash can't sync at higher speed than 1/180. You have to use an on camera flash supporting high speed sync (HSS) if you want to go higher than this.

QuoteOriginally posted by shortphaselabs Quote
My alternative is to use a basic manual flash but I seem to have misplaced mine just in time to experiment with this.