Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-02-2016, 08:33 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Shake Reduction Question

While confident in my ability to capture some pretty good images on 35mm slides, I am new to the world of digital photography. So, here is the first of many questions to come. I'm sure many of those questions will be considered basic knowledge to many here, so please bear with me.

My Camera, K200D and other Pentax DSLR's, have the ability to turn the Shake Reduction on or off. What is the disadvantage of using Shake Reduction all the time. What, if anything, is sacrificed by using Shake Reduction?

06-02-2016, 08:56 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Firstly SR is for handhold shooting only ... On tripods or other stable support it should be switched off.

I don't think there's any disadvantage to using SR in most handheld situations. It will reduce the effects of camera shake at all focal lengths and a good range of shutter speeds. It may be that its effectiveness is greater between the range around 1/4sec through to around 1/125thsec, I think I've read that ....
06-02-2016, 08:57 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by sibyrnes Quote
What is the disadvantage of using Shake Reduction all the time. What, if anything, is sacrificed by using Shake Reduction?
In general, nothing.

However, a couple of things to keep in mind:
1) On older Pentax cameras there is a slight pause while the SR system spools up and locks. Make sure you have that green hand icon steady before you shoot. This does not seem to be an issue on newer cameras, not sure if it is on yours or not as I never used that camera.

2) SR should not be used when on a tripod as it can try to fix motion that does not exist and actually create motion. I made this error and have about 300 very soft shots of Big Horn sheep that should have been amazing and are just OK because of the SR system.