Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-29-2016, 08:48 AM   #1

Need help choosing my first camera

Hi

As you can see from the title I am new in the whole photography hobby and I don't actually own DSLR so I would appreciate if you could share your Pentax wisdom and help me chose my entry.

Ok, so until week ago I was sold on the idea of buying K-S2, I really liked the features it has and the overall performance of the camera looked like something I want. But last week I saw the new K-70 model, which looks even better than K-S2.
My question for you is which one is better and why?

06-29-2016, 09:32 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I would suggest you'll almost always get better image quality from a newer camera of the same class (e.g. entry level) if for no other reason than you have a more-current sensor, which would steer you to the K-70. With that said, my guess is you'll get a better deal on the KS-2 (or a second-hand K5 series) camera, image quality will be more than adequate while you learn, and by spending less now while you try DSLR photography you'll have less invested if you decide it's not for you, or more in your wallet for an upgrade to a higher end camera later if you really take to it.
06-29-2016, 09:36 AM   #3
Veteran Member

The Ks-2 is a great camera and the K-70 is a little better.

Also consider the K-3 or used K-5. Both are great cameras.

Less you spend on a camera, more on glass.
06-29-2016, 09:49 AM   #4

QuoteOriginally posted by bertwert Quote
Less you spend on a camera, more on glass.
I tend to agree with this statement. As a beginner, the limiting factor is going to be your skill as a photographer. You can always upgrade your camera body once you surpass its abilities, meanwhile you have been building a nice collection of lenses.

06-29-2016, 10:25 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is good information here.
Pentax K-70 Release Date, Price and Specs - CNET