Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-30-2016, 08:27 AM   #1

low light advices

hello everyone.

I have an ugly/beautiful k-01 and what I think is the best lens lineup for my needs (da12-24, da15, da21, da35, k 50 f1.2, da70). A complete and compact system that I can take with me everywhere (I hate zooms except the 12-24)

I'm an artist, so I need nice pictures to document my work.

the fact is that I'm a light artist, that means the 90% of my shots are on poor light/difficult light/no light situation.

the k-01 raw are good enough but I can never go over 1600 iso or the result won't be good: I work with color light, so the color noise kind of ruin the detail.
same for video, sometimes I need a short video to show movements and reflections. video it's not something crucial, the k-01 does the job

as the business is good, I'm thinking of changing equipment to enhance the low light images. what are the options in 2016?

as I love my lens setup, It would be nice to stay in pentax...but not necessarily

so...how much better is the k-3II over my k-01 in terms on noise? or ks-2? k-1 is too heavy I think to be carried on daily routine.

or should I sell everything and go for a sony A7 and a decent prime?

thanks!!!

06-30-2016, 08:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

K3II is 1-2 stop better then KS-2..K-1 is 2-3 stop better then K-3II again.
06-30-2016, 08:56 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I don't find the K-1 all that heavy and it does very well in low light but you might want to switch to some FF lenses (like the 77 instead of the 70).
Or the K-3ii is very capable and would work with all your existing lenses.
06-30-2016, 09:51 AM   #4
Veteran Member

The K-1 is the best low light pentax available. However, almost all the lenses you have won't take advantage of the large sensor. Maybe it makes more sense to invest in some good noise reduction software?

06-30-2016, 10:09 AM   #5