Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-18-2008, 03:02 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Noise on other brands

Hi all,

Recently a friend and I were shooting at a party. His C* 5D could shoot a lot more than my K10D, because even at (for my K10) ridiculously high ISO he still got good images.
(in low light without tripod I dare not go over 400, and even then..)
I was really impressed with the lack of noise. I know it is a limitation of the K10, hopefully solved with the K20, but it made me wonder:
Is this seemingly superior high ISO quality only in JPG's or also in the RAW's? I mean, is it all postprocessing, or also sensor related? (My guess, since the 5D is FF, but then, I'm no expert)

07-18-2008, 03:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Do you have noise reduction turned off? I can pretty well shoot ISO 1600 with my K100d in low light.
07-18-2008, 03:53 PM   #3
Veteran Member

well, the 5D does not have SR so.. it kind of evens out I guess.. you can get usable pictures with 1/15s @ 800 ISO and he can shoot 1/60s @ 3200 ISO and get usable pictures.
07-18-2008, 04:06 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Shashinki Quote
well, the 5D does not have SR so...
And you know that how? Did I miss where the OP said an IS lens wasn't used?

07-18-2008, 05:10 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Jodokast96 Quote
And you know that how? Did I miss where the OP said an IS lens wasn't used?
Actually, he used an EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, I the 16-50 2.8.
But my q was more related to noise reduction algorithms or noise (in)sensitive chips...
07-18-2008, 05:16 PM   #6
Veteran Member

I paid over $4000 Canadian for my D2h in 2004, and the noise at ISO 400 and above is redicules.

My K10D is great at up to iso 1000, and starts to go down a bit, from there.

Dave
07-18-2008, 05:17 PM   #7
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by fishy Quote