Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2016, 05:13 PM   #1

Help Deciding New Camera (K-3ii, K-1 or Sony!)

Hello, im looking to upgrade my camera and hoping some of you can provide some insight on what would be the best choice.

Ive been using a K-5ii for 2 years now. I absolutely love this camera if im outside and have plenty of sunshine. However, i can not seem to get enough light into the camera when indoors or even out side in the shade or on a cloudy day. It drives me bananas! If inside i have to use the built in flash which may or may not help, or i have to increase ISO past 3200 which destroys the image itself. I also have a big problem with this cameras auto-focus. Its horrendous and even my pentax point and shoot does better at times. The focus is also mostly related to not having enough light. If i can get my pentax on a tripod and lower the shutter i can get light, but obviously this requires a still subject, which is seldom the case..

I typically only shoot portrait type images, some landscape (mountains and waterfalls), time lapse, astro and street images. I like very crisp focused images and also like to play around with depth of field..

That said, im trying to decide between a simple upgrade to the K-3ii or going full frame with the k-1 or even the sony A7S ii.. Price is not an issue. Unfortunately, the closest camera shop is almost 3 hours away so putting my hands on any of these before buying is not an option either.. Is the K-3ii really a significant upgrade from the k-5ii? Is it just my kit lens (DA 18-135) causing my issues?

Based on the info provided, does anyone has any insight on which of these would be the best for my simple needs? What will give me the best focusing and allow me to take decent images on a cloudy day without a flash and without having to crank up the ISO? All suggestions are appreciated! thanks

07-19-2016, 05:33 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Albums