Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 36 Likes Search this Thread
09-14-2016, 08:05 AM   #106
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hmmm... from my perspective Pentax was a better choice, but I am just a hobbyist.

The reason I like my K-3 (and even K-5) were because I have access to a nice compact system. The 31, 43, 77 limiteds and nice ergonomics of the Pentax cameras are hard to beat. Of course, ergonomics have nothing really to do with image quality. I like the weather sealing, even if I have few lenses to complement that. I like that when I am out and about, people are less apprehensive because my street photography setup of a K-3 + 21 or 43 are not intimidating at all. Yet again, this doesn't say much of the image quality.

However, when I look at images from a Pentax K-3, K-5, K-1, etc, compared with Nikon's offerings, I don't see huge differences. I see excellent photos from the Pentax cameras and I see excellent from Nikon cameras.I don't pixel peep or concern myself with noise any more. I see that Nikon is better for action shots, wildlife, birding etc. I see that the photographer matters more than the camera. Today's technology really makes the actual images fairly equal and the differences are really about pixel peeping.

I think if there is anything I'd want from Nikon in the Pentax it would be a little better auto-focus for tracking and continuous focus. I guess 50+ focus points might help with continuous focus? Otherwise, I don't see where that would be totally necessary. Because of the continuous focus problems with my K-3 (and K-5 previously), I don't use it often, and with a more static focus, I don't see myself wanting for more focus points.