Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2016, 09:33 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Second Pentax K-* dSLR advice needed

Greetings folks,

I'm a long time Pentaxian but by no means an expert, I started with a Ricoh K[something] and Pentax ME SLR and finally graduated to what I could afford at the time, a K-r with the 18-55 DAL kit lens. Since then have put more money into a variety of better glass, but I am about to take a trip and want a backup camera to loan (give) to my brother. I could get a used K-r on eBay (so he and I have the same) but it seems like I might want to upgrade a bit. A full frame K1 is out and I am fine with a used camera with <5000 shutter count, was looking at K-01 (mirrorless) but know nothing about it. Since the K-r is 12.4 MPx I'd want something that or greater.

I am a casual photographer and wish to learn more, but overall want reliability.

Any advice?

And if this is in the wrong forum I apologize.

Cheers!

09-26-2016, 09:39 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Hello and welcome to the forums

My recommendations - in descending order of price - would be to go for either a K-3, K-5IIs, K-5II or K-5. All have been flagship models in the Pentax range, and are *extremely* robust and proven. I've had my K-5 for a number of years and it has seen quite a bit of abuse, but it just keeps taking great photos alongside the K-3 and K-3II that are my main cameras.

In terms of value-for-money, if you can find a K-5 with a reasonably low shutter count, that's what I'd recommend. You won't get better bang for your buck
09-26-2016, 09:41 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Awesome, just what I wanted to know!!
09-26-2016, 11:05 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by BigMackCam Quote
Hello and welcome to the forums