Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-11-2016, 06:01 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
K70 or K3ii, please help

My beloved K10d finally died and I need to get another Pentax. I'd love some thoughts from y'all. I think I've narrowed it down to K70 or K3ii (the K1 is so tempting but I really don't need a full frame). I'm not a professional, but I shoot daily, and I've sold some of my photos. Really want to be able to capture the night sky. I've fallen with my old camera a few times (out in the desert) so I need something rugged.

10-11-2016, 06:12 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

I can't speak for the K70, but I have the original K3 and it is a pretty dependable tank.
10-11-2016, 06:12 AM - 1 Like   #3
amateur dirt farmer...
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-3II - if it's anywhere near as rugged as my K-3 (and why wouldn't it be?), it would be my choice...
10-11-2016, 06:17 AM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

If I was buying now, I would still buy the K-3II.

10-11-2016, 06:18 AM - 1 Like   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Do you need an onboard flash? Would you benefit from built-in GPS? That's the decision between K3 and K3II. If you're happy with the K10 I'd go for the flagship again. Build quality is great and you get the top LCD. I don't know about you but I use that all the time in the field, it's easier to see in bright sun than looking through the viewfinder to check your settings.
10-11-2016, 06:21 AM - 2 Likes   #6
Pentaxian

I'd say K-3ii as well.
Although, the K-70 has a flippy screen.... so it's not like it doesn't have anything to offer, and I have to admit the flippy screen on my K-1 is even more useful than I anticipated, and i've been drooling over them for years.

Taken at ground level with Live View. Without a flippy screen this is a real pain.

But maybe you don't do this.
10-11-2016, 06:47 AM   #7
Pentaxian