Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-27-2008, 07:49 AM   #1
Forum Member

New Camera

Hi Y'all,
Forum newbie here with questions regarding updating to DSLR. I have Pentax film equipment and have been away from photography for a few years. Now that I'm retired, I would like to move into the digital photography area, but I'd like to be able to use some of my old "glass". I have a number of manual lenses from my K1000 and ME, and a couple of autofocus lenses from my SF-10 (bought new so you can tell how long I've been away from photography).
I'm looking for something "entry level" that would allow me to gradually ease back into shooting. Unfortunately, I'm now on a somewhat fixed budget, so cost is a big factor. I'm not against used, and all of the P&S cameras we have are SD card based, so I'd like to be able to share those as well.
I'm not asking the "what is the best" question, but I would appreciate suggestions on what equipment meets my needs. There are so many of the digital models out there that I have no idea where to start, and I'd hate to get something that is going to be problematic from the beginning.
TIA for any assistance.
John

07-27-2008, 08:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the group. I'd say get a K100D or K100D super. That way you get SR (Shake reduction) that will work with your old lenses. Being an old fart myself I find it very useful. 6 MP prints very well through 18 X 12 so don't worry about that. You should be able to get one for $325 or less.

Have fun,
Ken
07-27-2008, 08:39 AM   #3