Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-28-2008, 10:13 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
K10D Mode Dial not working with M lens?

Hi all,
Forum newbie here with questions regarding K10D Mode Dial. I currently only have the M lens with the K10D & I know it only can be use in Manual mode. But when I turn the mode dial to Green, P, Sv, Tv and Tav, somehow it all shows AV only! The actual AV shows correctly according the mode dial program on the LCD screen as well as the M, Bulb & X. Is this because the M lens attached to the camera body and with AF lens (DA, F, FA) all other modes will show correctly?
Any advice would greatly appreciate.
David

07-28-2008, 11:17 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think this happens with all K10Ds.
But the M lens should work fine in M mode all the same.

Have you had problems taking photos with your M lenses?
If you haven't tried yet, have a read through the K10D manual - it's quite a handy resource.
07-28-2008, 11:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
K10D Mode Dial not working with M lens?

Hi Ash,
I think I found the answer from the manual, with the M lens attached; the camera will operates in Av mode even if the mode dial is at Green, P, Sv, Tv and Tav. That is why when I change to one of those mode it only shows Av or Manual mode only.
And no problem takes pictures while in M mode.

Thanks for your response.

David
07-29-2008, 01:47 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi, David. The instruction manual will be wordy about it, but it boils down to this: