Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-11-2016, 04:29 AM   #1
Forum Member

Do all lenses need fine tuning?

I am very new to photography and have recently recieved a k1 with a 55mm 1.4 lense. I am trying to figure out if all lenses need fine tuning?

The shots i have attached were a typical result from shooting over 100 pics. I wasn't able to get the eyes in focus or get a sharp shot of the face at least. I don't know if this is has to do with when shooting in afs and single spot focus, that i couldn't move the focus point around (can this be done) or do i need to fine tune? I know typical rookie but any advice would be great.

Last edited by yozza; 11-13-2016 at 01:28 AM.
11-11-2016, 04:42 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Yep, we move the single point around with the four buttons around the central OK one.

You can fine tune for individual lenses if they front or back focus.

That's unlike low end Nikons. I had a very annoyed work colleague today who says he needs to do that with a 105mm macro on his 3200 but it's not possible!

Last edited by clackers; 11-11-2016 at 05:01 AM.
11-11-2016, 04:51 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I'm afraid so, Speaking of 105mm Nikkor lenses. I have to do AF adjustment on my new Nikkor 105mm f/1.4G, calibrating focus at f/1.4 is not going to be fun.
11-11-2016, 05:06 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Oh ok thankyou, better learn how to do that

11-11-2016, 05:20 AM - 1 Like   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Injecting two questions, which have probably been asked and answered long since: 1) is there a best distance for calibrating focus, and is it different for each FL? 2) is there a best zoom setting for calibrating (long end, intermediate, short end), or should/can it be done for different FLs on a zoom?
11-11-2016, 05:40 AM   #6
Veteran Member