Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
11-21-2016, 05:01 PM - 2 Likes   #1
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Pentax AF for Sports and Action

I'm still bemused by posts saying it can't be done.

I don't get it.

I'm an amateur casually pointing my handheld K-1 with a Tamron 70-200 (not some expensive sports lens) at a runner.

The ninth shot of the sequence was cropped and processed for my social media.

Last edited by clackers; 11-21-2016 at 07:08 PM.
11-21-2016, 05:52 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice shooting. I also find Pentax AF efficient for sports/wildlife/action when proper settings are utilized.

Your shots look detailed and well lit.
11-21-2016, 05:58 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

I think when people complain about AF it's more about things smaller and faster than a human running, but it can be done.
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1  Photo 
11-21-2016, 07:06 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by KiloHotelphoto Quote
I think when people complain about AF it's more about things smaller and faster than a human running, but it can be done.
I've seen 'experts' say they could not do this to horses, KiloHotelphoto, or people riding bicycles

Love your eagle shot, BTW!

11-21-2016, 07:18 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ian and I once got into it over dos running straight at the camera. I think I to 5-7 with the 3 or 4 closest to me out of focus, he got 12 in focus. It's not that you can't get it done, it's that cameras with AF designed for action increases your odds.

Ian was shooting a D750 if memory serves me well. For the difference in price, I was really happy with my K-3. After all, how many images of your dog running straight at you do you really want?
11-21-2016, 08:13 PM   #6
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
100km race
11-21-2016, 08:50 PM   #7