Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2016, 03:14 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I have a question about back/front focus

After reviewing my images taken at a Christmas market the past weekend, I suspected my Kx had focus problem, today I did some test and calibration according to guide from Internet with a DA 40mm Ltd mounted. It seems better now. However I still have some questions:

- I understand that doing this calibration on the body means adjusting the point of focus backward or forward to compensate for front focus or back focus problem. So that would mean the camera now will permanently shift its focus point (until I set the parameter again)? So what would happen when I use other lens which I think back focus problem has happened less? Will they suddenly become more front focus due to my adjustment?

- Will that change anything with manual lens? I'm not very good at manual focus, but normally I trust my eye rather than focus confirmation, and usually when I see clear image in the viewfinder, the photo is in pretty good focus status too, now will the back focus adjustment change anything on that?

Thank you very much for helping me with these newbie questions

12-12-2016, 03:38 PM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

The K-x can only store one AF adjustment, so if you fit a different lens you'll need to reset that adjustment to zero (or to whatever setting works best for that particular lens). And yes - AF fine adjustment also affects the point at which you'll get focus confirmation with a manual focus lens, so again, reset the adjustment to zero or to whatever works best for it.

Later cameras allow multiple settings to be stored for each lens that can be recognised by the camera as a specific model. But for manual lenses with no electronic communication, you still have to individually set the AF fine adjustment for that lens.
12-12-2016, 06:36 PM   #3
amp