Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2017, 08:40 PM   #1

Lens micro adjustments - new to DSLR

Greetings,

I have recently purchased a Pentax K70, which I am enjoying tremendously. My previous camera was mirrorless so I never dealt with having to (or not having to) adjust lenses for focal accuracy (or whatever this procedure is called). I've read multiple articles regarding this topic and it seems that there are two extreme camps: Those who never bothered with this adjustment (and never had an issue), or those who absolutely, positively swear by it, whose lenses were all completely out of whack requiring significant tweaking. I'd like to hear from Pentax owners' experiences regarding this adjustment to see if I should invest the time and effort to try to investigate my lenses. By the way, I am no pro, I bought my K70 with the kit 18-135 and have purchased a 35mm 2.4 prime that I love. Will likely buy many more in the future. Thanks.

01-12-2017, 08:48 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Start by just taking shots. If you see some focus misses then see if you see anything consistent. So for example if you shoot at a wide open aperture and the eyes of your subject aren't quite as in focus as the ears... and this keeps happening and you are sure you put the focus mark over the eyes - you may need to adjust things.

That's my take.
Many opinions.
01-12-2017, 08:56 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

If you experience issues with focus/softness, that's when I'd start worrying about AF adjustments. Usually wide-aperture lenses are more picky than slower zooms.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)