Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2017, 01:27 AM   #211
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Brooke Meyer Quote
I shot at f4 because that's as wide as my Sigma will go and I used 12,800 because it was really dark and I needed fast shutter speed. And there was no spray and pray, I track dancers and make decisions.

Which is why I often have Moms & Dads with other brands and models say they just don't bother and buy my photographs.

There is a big difference between being a photographer and being a camera owner. I will make photographs because I know the lighting and the choreography and the dancers. There's is no technology silver bullet for that.
Your are an expert for a very specific practice and you sell to people that are mostly complete beginner so sure you get better result than them and the best gear doesn't make them better than you...

Now, would you have some other photographer that know his trade with pro level camera (say D5 +f/2.8 Nikon pro zoom), he would get the result signifcantly more easily than you and with the same practice would get better results than you. And to get to the same level as yourself, it may require him fewer years of experiance that yourself.

I say that is significant advantage for him.

Last edited by Nicolas06; 04-01-2017 at 01:34 AM.
04-01-2017, 01:31 AM   #212
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by photoptimist Quote
Also, it will be interesting to analyze the artifacts in the RAW image created by all those PDAF-attenuated pixels. PDAF pixels lose at least 1 EV of DR. They'll be especially an issue in the bokeh parts of the image where all the left-hand PDAF pixels will be blind to the right half of the bokeh light. No doubt, the camera (or RAW developer) will just fill in the data as if it's a stuck pixel and most people won't care.