Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
03-21-2017, 06:53 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Help a newb out: K-5, K-5ii/K-5iiS, or K-S2?

I'm not very well versed in digital cameras. I have been an avid amateur film photographer, having started young with a Canon Rebel SLR, but in the last few years other things have taken precedence over my hobbies, and honestly my photography knowledge needs to be sharpened up. When my son was born almost 7 years ago, I invested in a Nikon D3000, which I used for basic family photo type things, as well as more creative endeavors. It was great for a while, but it's getting old and the quality of the photos just isn't what I want it to be anymore. I've always lusted after Pentax's, especially after talking my boyfriend in to getting a K01 when he was shopping for a mirrorless. It is absolutely fantastic, especially at color capture, which I understand is a Pentax hallmark.

My budget, however, is tight. Up to $600, max, and I'm debating between a used K5 vs used K5ii/s vs new KS2. I'm heading to Sicily in early June, and I really want a solid, quality camera that is going to allow me to both take shots on the fly, and compose some really stunning artsy shots.

What is going to be the best option when balancing budget and performance? I can find used K5 for under $400, & K5ii/S for under $500, not always with a lens, but with less than 15k shots, a few with less than 5k. (As far as the K5iiS, I'm willing to learn how to work around potential moire). Or, I can get a brand new K-S2 with a kit lens for $529.

Is it better to get the least expensive one, and spend the extra money in my budget on some good glass? Or, is it better to spend more on a set-up with a kit lens and relearn how to properly use a digital? I'm incapable of deciding, help!

03-21-2017, 07:05 PM   #2
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico