Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-02-2008, 11:16 AM   #1
Forum Member

K10D and sharpness ??

I am never 100% happy with the sharpness of my images SOOC. I'm sure this is a composite of the user and the lens as I only have beginner lenses and I am a beginner myself.

I am wondering if anyone uses the in camera sharpness adjustment on a regular basis? How does this compare to just sharpening in post processing with either a JPEG or RAW image? I am going to do my own testing of each sharpmness adjutment on each of my lenses but thought some of you may have some insight/experience as well.

Thanks!

08-02-2008, 11:28 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you shooting RAW or JPEG? In-camera jpegs on the K10D are significantly softer than RAW images of the same subjects. Your RAW image converter may also affect final sharpness. I have not tested it, but it has been reported that the software that ships with the camera (forgive my not remembering the product name) yields softer results than say Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) or Lightroom.

Steve
08-02-2008, 11:41 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
Are you shooting RAW or JPEG? In-camera jpegs on the K10D are significantly softer than RAW images of the same subjects. Your RAW image converter may also affect final sharpness. I have not tested it, but it has been reported that the software that ships with the camera (forgive my not remembering the product name) yields softer results than say Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) or Lightroom.

Steve
BTW...I forgot to mention that there is a lot to getting a picture that has that the "pop" that associate with sharpness. A few things to consider:
  • Minimize the affect of camera motion
  • Be sure of your focus...depth of field can be razor thin with even a moderate focal length lens if the subject is close enough and the aperture is wide enough