Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2008, 10:27 AM   #1

Pentax K100D and night shooting

Hi everyone, I've just registered and I have to say that I'm pretty new to the world of slr photos.

First of all, last Christimas I bought myself a Pentax K100D Super kit with the 18-55mm lens and I practiced it a bit during these months but there are some situations where I cannot reach the results I was hoping for.

I play in a rock band and enjoy attending live shows... and I was hoping to have it easy at shooting great photos during the concerts but it seems to me to be a little more difficult than I thought

The main problem is that, due to the fact that they are often small gigs, the lights are pretty low or not enough to get a good illumination of the subjects I shot. From what I understood in my researches there are 3 factors: time, f-stops and iso.

Willing to keep time and iso as low as possible the only variable seems to be the f-stops, and I'm starting to ask myself whether the value of 3.5 is enough for what I wanna do or I should start and look for another lens.

Of course, I'm trying to avoid the use of flash not to spoil the colors and "atmosphere" lights create on the stage, but I often have problems with over-saturated colors.

Can anyone help me find out my way in this wonderful world and shot photos that look like a pro?

Thanks!

08-11-2008, 10:44 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I have the same camera and I've been looking at the FA50 1.4 prime lens:

Pentax Lens Review Database - 50mm F1.4

For a fast zoom I am considering the DA*50-135:

Pentax Lens Review Database - 50-135mm F2.8 ED [IF]

For the type of shooting you are looking to do the DA* lens may be more handy giving you a zoom lens. However for the type of shooting I do I am probably going to get the FA50 1.4 first and a superzoom (18-250) second before I even consider buying the DA* lens. Hope that helps!
08-11-2008, 10:52 AM   #3