Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 71 Likes Search this Thread
04-15-2017, 11:57 PM   #136
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Maybe this analogy will go over heads of most people, but it makes perfect sense to me.

When I decided to actually get serious with being a chef I knew I needed dependable knives, but wasn't ready to take the leap into $2000 set of knives or piece together a pricey set of knives. So I bought a Shun Classic chef's knife, pairing knife, and a Wustof Ikon fillet knife(the only life I still own from that purchase). I spent about $400 for those 3 knives. Luckily, I live in a city where lower high end cutlery can be tested and tried in store, but you'll never find this sort of cutlery in stores like Wal-Mart and Costco. Sure, you can get super sharp knives for cheap from those kinds of stores, but do they hold up when abused? No. Most of the cheap knives go dull fast because they are either abused or just of poor quality and the average consumer doesnt know how to properly sharpen a knife. So when I'm asked by my friends what kind of knives they should get, I always recommend a lower high end knife because of durability and the fact that if they invest a decent amount of money into the knives, they will be more cautious in maintenance and the way they handle the knives. In the last 10 years I have pieced together a knife kit that has run me over $10,000. With that being said knives are made by several large and independent companies to suit every kind of consumer imaginable. From lightweight high carbon steel (higher maintanence) to heavier German steel(lower maintenance) to the cheap stuff you buy in big stores. For me photography is very similar because the high carbon steel and German steel knives are priced at several levels, but are usually decent knives at any level depending on personal taste. Pentax is like an awesome high end high carbon steel knife manufacturer and Canikon are the German steel m