Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-14-2008, 06:28 PM   #1

Force Flash on the K100D

Hey Guys,
A Friend asked me to shoot the ceremony photos only for her wedding. (Her "pro" photog is also a groomsman, thus he can't take photos during the ceremony, just the formal before and after shots.
I have never shot a wedding, and really don't want to screw this up.
The ceremony is outdoors and will be at high noon. It's supposed to be sunny here on Saturday.
Now, to eliminate some of the shadows, I thought It would be best to "force flash" some of the shots, but I can't seem to get my K100d to do it. I have a Promaster 5200dx bounce flash, and even with it turned on and set to manual fire in the menus, the flash only fires when the camera has decided that the shot needs it.
Can any of you give me some help?
The User manual doesn't seem to have the answer I was looking for.

Thanks in advance.

Dan

08-14-2008, 06:45 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If all else fails you can put a peice of black electrical tape over the sensor. The flash will think that it is night. You should take a few test shots to get the settings right sometime before the wedding..

Dave

QuoteOriginally posted by fletcherkane Quote
Hey Guys,
A Friend asked me to shoot the ceremony photos only for her wedding. (Her "pro" photog is also a groomsman, thus he can't take photos during the ceremony, just the formal before and after shots.
I have never shot a wedding, and really don't want to screw this up.
The ceremony is outdoors and will be at high noon. It's supposed to be sunny here on Saturday.
Now, to eliminate some of the shadows, I thought It would be best to "force flash" some of the shots, but I can't seem to get my K100d to do it. I have a Promaster 5200dx bounce flash, and even with it turned on and set to manual fire in the menus, the flash only fires when the camera has decided that the shot needs it.
Can any of you give me some help?