Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-19-2007, 09:22 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K10D Resolution Question

First let me apologize for rookie questions that I may ask. I am fairly new to digital photography and I have much to learn.

I am using a K10D and love my new camera. Here is my question:

When shooting at the highest quality setting, 10MP, I notice that when viewing the image size in Photoshop that my Resolution is only 72ppi. Is there a setting that changes this or do I have to manually process my image to get the 300ppi needed to get a quality print. Will shooting in RAW vs Jpeg effect this?

Thanks ahead of time.

Tim

02-19-2007, 09:32 AM   #2
Veteran Member

From my understanding, monitors display at 72ppi. I don't know PP too well and I know a lot of forum members here will be able to answer the question about saving at 300ppi (for magazine print) better. Just wanted to pass on what I knew.

Cheers.
02-19-2007, 09:53 AM   #3

The dpi (dots per inch) associated with an image file is just a value, a default for how it could be printed. This default can be changed at any time or overridden when printing. It has no effect whatsoever on the image held in the file.

dpi is only meaningful when an image is printed.

Some people used to suggest that monitors "were" 72dpi, but this is both incorrect and meaningless. Consider the resolution you use on your monitor (e.g. 1152x864 pixels) and the size of your monitor (e.g. 12.5"x9.5" - a rough measurement of my '17"' monitor) - that's about 90 "dpi". Now change the resolution you're using or get a different monitor (bigger or smaller) or get a projector and mess around with the size of the projected image. You will soon see that trying to specify a "standard" monitor dpi is meaningless.