Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-14-2017, 12:37 PM   #1

Wanting to Get a DSLR, Not Sure Where to Begin.

Apologies if this is in the wrong section.
Currently have a Pentax P30 I've been using for a few months now. I quite like it and have learned quite a lot with it. However I think I would like to upgrade to a DSLR and try my hand at that; using the lenses I already have.
I don't really know where to begin with DSLR cameras and would like some suggestions on what to get that will fit my budget and requirements.
I would like the DSLR camera to preferably have at least 10 megapixels or more, ideally it should be able to shoot 1080i/p video (could make do with 720p though), and be compatible with my other Pentax K mount lenses I have purchased. My budget is 100 but could stretch to 200.
I appreciate the help and advice and welcome any suggestions

07-14-2017, 12:59 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Did you check out the camera comparison page? Pentax K-30 vs. Pentax K-50 vs. Pentax K-500 - Pentax Camera Comparison - PentaxForums.com

K-30 / K-50 / k-500 are probably the models to shoot for given your requirements and budget.
Note these cameras do have some problems with aperture solenoid failures, so be cool with this potential before buying.
07-14-2017, 01:21 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Lazmarr Quote
I appreciate the help and advice and welcome any suggestions
IMHO, some of the first things that you should consider are:

What types of photos do I want to take...landscapes, portraits, sports, events / weddings, macro, etc?

Are the lenses that I currently have appropriate for the types of photos I plan to take?

What camera format interests you....m4/3, ASP-C, FF, etc.?
07-14-2017, 01:29 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums