Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2017, 08:17 AM   #1

Is Yongnuo YN560 II a proper manual flash for learning?

I want to buy a budget off camera flash device, primary for experimenting with macro and fill flash techniques. If still not clear, I am a newbie at flash photography, but on the basis of what i have read or been told, i have some other more specific questions:
- i read that it is a proper model for my k-x, but do i need a third party device to attach it? Because I read it can be used also on Canon and Nikon? Well, actually, it works on k-x, right, or...?
- this one has not a P-TTL mode. Is this a big loss? i guess manual will be also more educational for me, if not only cheaper. But what do i actually miss?
- does anybody know if there are important differences between this model and YN560IV, which is around 15 dollars more expensive?
- could it be combined with the in-built pop up flash, or this is not a good idea?
- can it be used also on SLR (I have a P30t), or the power supply is not appropriate? (I am really confused about this stuff)

Thank you!!! ( :

07-21-2017, 08:41 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Why not just spend the extra $20 for a YN585? It has P-TTL and can be used manually.
07-21-2017, 09:40 AM   #3

Original Poster
Just checked it. Yes, YN585 looks like a better option! Thanks! I am still interested if it is ok also for a SLR (I guess no)
07-21-2017, 09:46 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by kmladeno Quote
Just checked it. Yes, YN585 looks like a better option! Thanks! I am still interested if it is ok also for a SLR (I guess no)