Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2008, 12:19 PM   #1
Inactive Account

digital replacement for Pentax MZ-5?

Dear all,

I have an analoge Pentax MZ-5 and I would like to replace it by a digital camera with comparable functions/level. If possible I would like to continue using my 'old' lenses, one tamron AF 28-200 and a Pentax smc FA 28-70.
With which digital Pentax DSLR(s) would that be possible? Which one would you recommend? What other functions are important and is there anything else I should consider? I am not very experienced with digital photography.. and I will be happy about any help! Thanks in advance and
Best regards,

08-21-2008, 01:06 PM   #2

QuoteOriginally posted by Astroid Quote
Dear all,

I have an analoge Pentax MZ-5 and I would like to replace it by a digital camera with comparable functions/level. If possible I would like to continue using my 'old' lenses, one tamron AF 28-200 and a Pentax smc FA 28-70.
With which digital Pentax DSLR(s) would that be possible? Which one would you recommend? What other functions are important and is there anything else I should consider? I am not very experienced with digital photography.. and I will be happy about any help! Thanks in advance and
Best regards,
Hi Astroid

I went from the MZ-5 (which I still have) to a K10D, to my mind a very good camera indeed. Like you I had the Pentax smc FA 28-70 and also a Tokina 75-300 with the MZ-5 and both perform just fine on the K10D, the only thing you will need to be aware of is the focal length increases by 1.5 due to the sensor in the digital camera being smaller than standard 35 mm film. For instance the FA 28-70 performs as if it were a 42-105.

I can only speak of the K10D from personal experience but posts on this forum indicate that all Pentax digital cameras are very good and so it comes down to what you can afford and what functions you want.

Regards
Brian
08-21-2008, 04:08 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery