Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
09-26-2017, 10:16 AM   #1

Body and lens upgrade suggestions

Hello!

I have found myself browsing the forums here for the last several years, but have never registered...until today.

*disclaimer, I am a hobbyist that knows some, but has a lot to learn! Please be patient with me in my explanations and what I think I understand.*

Several years ago, when researching for my first DSLR purchase (previously used Minolta SLRs), the information provided here was invaluable! At that time based on needs and budget I went with the Pentax K-r kit that included the 18-55 3.5-5.6 and 50-200 4-5.6 lenses. I have enjoyed learning more with this set up over the years, but feel that it no longer meets my growing needs. I'm a hobbyist, shooting primarily my kids' sports (volleyball, basketball, and both indoor and outdoor track and soccer. Action shots in low light have become my biggest challenge. I feel image quality is an issue too at long focal lengths with my kit 50-200 lens, more noticeably after having the mirror mechanism replaced. I also enjoy portraits, and felt confident doing my oldest daughter's senior portraits. With five, yes 5, more daughters coming up I plan to do theirs as well. So...

I still have a budget, however not quite as tight this time around. I am considering the the K-3II since the K-3 seems to have become more expensive since being discontinued. I will miss the built in flash for certain applications, although I do have accessory flashes. The K-3II seems to be highly rated and a significant upgrade from my K-r to justify upgrading.

Since I'm pretty certain on the body, unless there is a suggestion for a model I haven't considered at a similar price point, my biggest debate is on lens(es). Other than the basics, I admittedly don't know much about lenses. I am currently looking at the following lenses to eventually pair with the K-3II: