Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2017, 10:13 PM   #46
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks Mike. Yes, this was the model that came with the newer 18-50 lens. For a "kit" lens it's pretty darn sharp I'd say. I've heard gripes about Pentax noise but this one is pretty quiet. It's slow at f/4 but you can't win 'em all, especially for 500USD.

I am not good at using this camera and taking the shots I want. I suspect that this is not the fault of the camera. I'm of two minds about it: the first tells me to return it, save a little dough and go back to mirrorless. The second tells me to give it one winter. I think I'll give it one winter.

The issue is that the machine does not feel intuitive to me as all. It's not an extension of me like my old LX100 was. But it won't shit the bed in dust and rain either like my LX100 did so there ya go.

But I hope- HOPE- that I can become a better photographer. This new camera is totally alien to me, way more than I have expected it would be. If I learn it, I may become better at what we do.

I'm gonna keep it and, if I'm current with the rent and my kid has everything she needs, pick up a mirrorless with my tax refund this winter.

By the way- returning it through Amazon was probably redundant. I'll keep an eye on the new viewfinder to see if crap accumulates.

10-06-2017, 01:11 PM   #47
Veteran Member

If you use great care under conditions in which you change lenses, no crap should enter your camera. I am glad you got the new 18-50mm kit lens. $500 is a great price. I think when a camera is bought new it should come out of the box perfect, so returning for exchange was not a bad idea. That lens is indeed better than the old kit lens. The AF is quiet, quick, and sure. Image quality very good, and it is the most compact zoom for carrying on an APS-C DSLR. On the K-S2, you can actually find yourself able to fit a zoom lens on an APS-C DSLR into a large jacket pocket!!