Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
10-02-2017, 07:35 PM   #1
Site Supporter

From SLR to DSLR: some input would be great!

Hi everyone,

First off, I should note that I am no expert photographer. My dad got me into photography years ago, and while I am decent, I am in no way looking to buy a bells and whistles camera.

Currently, my primary camera is a Pentax ME Super, and I love it. That said, I am interested in picking up a DSLR. This is in large part due to the obvious benefits (no need to develop film, see the photo right away, make it easier for my wife who doesn't have any photography experience to play around with it, etc.). It's also because my ME Super is starting to act up a bit.

I'm not looking to spend a ton of money. I also only need a body, as I have a number of lenses P/K lenses that shouldn't be an issue attaching to any of the Pentax DSLRs. After some research, I've concluded that I'd be well off picking up a used Pentax DSLR. I am particularly interested in the K20D and the K-5, but I can easily be swayed. Keep in mind that I am most interested in nature/landscape shots in variable lighting, however, indoor shots of the baby and whatnot will also be taken. I raise this latter point because I understand that the ISO on the K20D may be somewhat limited, but I have no problems using flash so I actually don't think it's all that big of a deal.

So, long story short: for someone looking for a digital alternative to the ME Super, that isn't completely technologically outdated and is versatile enough for the hobbyist, am I better off in 2017 picking up a K20D, a K-5, or something else? Crucially, I want to keep this under $200, and won't go over about $230.

Thanks!

Mike

10-02-2017, 09:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

If budget allows get a K5. It is an awesome camera. I think you will enjoy the digital world.
10-02-2017, 09:10 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums