Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2017, 03:35 PM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

Pentax video: is it really that lousy?

A small disclaimer: though I am a somewhat experienced photographer with a few years under my belt, I almost never shoot video.

So, I just picked up a KS2. I was hanging out with my parents and my daughter at the park, my dad was pushing his granddaughter on the swing. I put the camera in auto mode and let it rip. The video and the sound were pretty darn good! Is the quality really that inferior to other DSLRs?

10-07-2017, 03:41 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
It's good for what they put in it and will be good for your "general shooting" type of work (light/minimal video editing).
10-07-2017, 03:55 PM   #3
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
I would not buy a Pentax for video. For video, I use Sony, who have been doing video for longer.
10-07-2017, 03:59 PM - 2 Likes   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by toptenmaterial Quote
The video and the sound were pretty darn good! Is the quality really that inferior to other DSLRs?
You've just made yourself quite unpopular with some for saying that. Topten!

10-07-2017, 04:14 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Its OK for 2012 standards...LaurenOE has shot outstanding video with Pentax.

Other Dslrs that have up to date video(4K) are not that great.

5Dmk4 has an oudated codec and crops the sensor a lot.

The "magic" recent Nikon isnt great @ AF....if you believe TCS youtube review, looks OK from TNs youtube comparison with GH5 and A7r2.

Good video is done by most recent Panasonics(even the compact footage is good).
10-07-2017, 04:59 PM - 2 Likes   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you are happy with it then that is all that matters.
10-07-2017, 06:08 PM   #7
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by johnmflores Quote
If you are happy with it then that is all that matters.