Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2007, 11:19 PM   #1

need help buying a Pentax K100d!!!

hello all I've been lurking the forums for a few weeks now and can't wait until I can contribute - but for now, I still don't have a camera! I'm a college student and I'm still saving up for a K100D (seems to be the best bang for the buck on a dSLR - if anyone can suggest other cameras for around the same price range, please do!)

Anyways, these are the deals I've found so far and needed help choosing a retailer to buy from:

Butterflyphoto has the K100d w/18-55mm Lens Kit for $552.00 = $50 rebate = $502.00
Butterfly Photo

Beachcamera / Buydig had the same exact kit for around $530 - 50 = $480.00
No link since they're out of stock at the time of this post (their Customer Support said that they'll be getting in a new shipment soon). But between Beach Camera and Butterflyphoto, Beach Camera seems to be the obvious retailer to buy from.

Here's where my decision gets a bit harder:

B&H offers what seems to be the same package for about the same price, and since I've read them to be a more reputable retailer, it almost seems to me like a nobrainer to buy from them:

Pentax K100D Digital Camera Kit with Pentax SMCP-DA 18-55mm AL AF Lens

They also offer a more expensive kit that comes with a SanDisk ULTRA II 2gig SD Card:

Pentax K100D Digital Camera with Pentax 18-55mm Lens and Sandisk 2GB Ultra II SD Card

The inclusion of the SD card, lens hood and other small goodies makes the latter package the best out of the bunch. I'm only worried that I'll be getting a poorer quality strap or even worse a different (worse) lens.

I'm new to dSLR photography, so any advice in comparison of the different packages/kits/offers listed above would really help me out - I'll be purchasing this sometime from mid to late March, so all feedback until then will be greatly appreciated!