Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-28-2008, 06:22 AM   #1
Banned

Why does this happen?

I've had my K10d for a few months now and am getting tired off it taking under exposed crappy pictures that have become wasted memories. Why can't the K10d meter correctly when Canons and Nikons can? I took over 400 pictures on my trip to Mystic and only had 50 or so keepers. I've come to the conclusion that the
K10d sucks!!! I'm sure there will be people that are going to blame the bad pictures on me, but my wifes lowly 3.2 mega pixel Canon PowerShot A75 took better pictures of the same objects and exposed them correctly.

Some of the under exposed pic's from the K10d.

08-28-2008, 06:56 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
I'm no expert, but the shutter speeds (in the exif data) looks too fast and maybe a stop or 2 down (higher f number, f8 at least) would have produced lighter shots.
Someone with more expertise than me will put you right But it's NOT the camera, I'm afraid it's the operator

Mick
08-28-2008, 06:59 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I've had this happen a few time to me before. Turns out I was metering off of a really bright portion of the frame. It was explained to me that in the mode I was in the camera would attempt to expose the frame to not blow out the highlights automatically resulting in a darker frame. His advice to me was to shoot more in the semi-manual/manual modes to understand how the settings effect exposure and then take more pictures metering off of different levels of brightness. Even though i have an older K100D the above exercises have helped me greatly.
08-28-2008, 07:15 AM   #4

I agree. Pentax metering usualy underexposes this type of pictures with higth bright portions of the frame (more when more sky is present). You can compenstate it manualy (+ 1 EV aprox ) keeping the histogram centered, or shot raw and post-process.

08-28-2008, 07:17 AM   #5
Veteran Member