Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
5 Days Ago   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Superimposing images with the K-30.... ever tried it?

On page 126 of the K-30 manual, it tells the steps necessary for superimposing images. I've never tried it before, but plan on giving it a whirl soon. I'm going to give astrophotography a try and think this might be very helpful. So.... if any of you have tried this superimposing feature, what's your opinion of it? It's more or less like HDR.... kinda'.

Thanks for any advice/tips/comments.

5 Days Ago   #2

Photos: Gallery
Not at all like HDR. HDR takes three (typically) pictures of the same thing one over exposed, one under exposed, and one "correctly" exposed then combines to correctly bringout all of the areas of the picture. Normally this method is used early in the morning, late in the evening or a night scene where there is some strong light on one portion of the picture and the rest is darker. Superimposing images is where you take a picture of one thing, then take a picture of another so one is imposed over the other. One of my favorite such pictures happened by mistake. I didn't realize I had this turned on and took a picture out of our front window. The previous picture had been of me and my wife standing together. The end result was a picture of our front yard with me and my wife almost looking like ghosts watching over our property.
5 Days Ago   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The k30d has 2 blend modes, (the same as my k5iis)