Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-05-2018, 07:03 PM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Pentax Colors

I know that I'm going into dangerous territory here, but...

Have any of you used multiple systems and found the Pentax to produce the most pleasing colors out of the camera? I know that with color profiles and adjustments in post there are very few "real world differences" when it comes to colors, but there is something about the colors I'm getting from Pentax that I find really pleasing. i've only used one Pentax camera and lens (see signature) so I'm far from an expert, but I like the straight out of camera output with my Pentax combo the best of any I've used. I'm not sure if it's the camera, the lens or both. I also feel like the straight out of camera contrast is the best of any I've ever had as well. The color green in particular looks really nice (to my taste) in my Pentax photos.

Just curious what everyone's thoughts are on the subject.

04-05-2018, 08:12 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Yes, I've had that impression for a long time, even though the rational part of me believes colors can be adjusted so much that it's silly to claim any camera has a fingerprint.

On the matter of Pentax color, though, it's beyond any doubt that pixel shift renders more accurate color.
04-05-2018, 08:26 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Like all things i think it really depends on the subject. Usually i find that the pentax images add just a tad bit too much magenta for my liking and i always need to dial it back. Outside of that though, i completely agree when it comes to the greens, really nice tones with out too much saturation.

04-05-2018, 11:15 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter