Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 17 Likes Search this Thread
06-25-2018, 07:48 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
K3ii or K1

I currently have a K5 and it has worked well for me the past many years. I am having a hard time deciding which body to upgrade to.
I know if I go to the K1 I will have to invest in some new lenses (currently use the 16-85 almost exclusively), but that isn't a deal breaker.
I want either the K3ii or K1 for the astro photography benefits. Otherwise I am a landscape photographer.
Other than the MP increase what would you say are the biggest differences?
At what size print does the K3ii show it's lack of MPs?
Thanks

06-25-2018, 08:09 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Imaging resource rates the maximum print size per ISO if you want good quality, scroll down to "print quality analysis" Pentax K-3 II Review - Image Quality

Quoted from their article: Very nice 30 x 40 inch prints up to ISO 200; a good 11 x 14 inch print at ISO 3200; a usable 4 x 6 at ISO 12,800.

My guess is that for less critical work you can print larger. I've never printed this large at base ISO, so my max was 11x17" and it looked great. What is the largest that you've printed with the k5?
06-25-2018, 08:11 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by John Hales Quote
Imaging Resource provides a good overview of print quality. Scroll down on these pages to see the 'Print Quality Analysis'.

K-3 II: Pentax K-3 II Review - Image Quality

K-1: Pentax K-1 Review - Image Quality

edit: posted at the same time as @aaacb

06-25-2018, 08:11 AM - 1 Like   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Here's the link for the K-1 Pentax K-1 Review - Image Quality
Again from their review: Excellent 30 x 40 inch prints and larger at ISO 100/200/400; a good 24 x 36 inch print at ISO 1600; a nice 8 x 10 inch print at ISO 12,800.
06-25-2018, 08:20 AM - 1 Like   #6
Pentaxian