Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2008, 02:50 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Where to next?

I am an absolute beginner with DSLRs and recently bought a K200D. I am loving the camera and I try to get out every weekend and shoot. I think I am picking up the basics fairly quickly and have forced myself only to shoot in manual so that I can learn to make the necessary adjustments. I haven't played around with dynamic range or white balance settings (past the built-in settings) yet, but I have been setting aperture and shutter settings. Needless to say I have mixed results but I find that about 20% of what I shoot keepers.

I haven't really found that I want to shoot any particular thing, just things that strike me as interesting from architecture to landscapes as well as animals and plants.

My question is where do I go from here? How can I keep learning and exploring? More specifically, how can I tell if what I am shooting is good?

I am currently just using the 18-55 mm kit lens and I think that it is fine for my purposes at the moment while I am learning but I would like to get some more lenses, perhaps a zoom and a prime. What would be some good (inexpensive) lenses to explore further?

In general I guess my question is, where do I go from here?

09-13-2008, 03:16 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Have a look at this site to learn more about digital cameras and photography in general.

You are very wise to start in manual exposure, your leanrning curve should be quick.

Digital Photography Tutorials
09-13-2008, 08:26 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You might enjoy this one too, it is the standard "get this book" for beginning photogs. Amazon.com: Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital Camera (Updated Edition): Bryan Peterson: Books
09-13-2008, 08:43 AM   #4
Pentaxian