Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2018, 08:40 AM   #1
Forum Member

Pentax KP or K-70 for a first DSLR

Hello guys,

I am still new in the world of photography and DSLRs, but hopefully - this will change soon.

At the moment I am exploring my options for buying my first DSLR and I am almost sure it will be a Pentax.

Till now - most of my photos were taken either with a phone or with a compact camera. I've taken some shots with K-50 and my general impressions are good. This and the comments which I have received from more experienced photographers convinced me to choose Pentax.

Now having to choose the exact model - I am choosing from two models - Pentax KP and Pentax K-70.
Reading through the reviews for both cameras - they seem very similar to me (in theory KP should be better, but based on the reviews - this is not always the case), so I hope that you can point me in the right direction.

So, long story short - could you suggest me which Pentax to choose and why - KP or K-70, for my first DSLR?

Thanks in advance!

07-21-2018, 08:46 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by icegirl Quote
Hello guys,

I am still new in the world of photography and DSLRs, but hopefully - this will change soon.

At the moment I am exploring my options for buying my first DSLR and I am almost sure it will be a Pentax.

Till now - most of my photos were taken either with a phone or with a compact camera. I've taken some shots with K-50 and my general impressions are good. This and the comments which I have received from more experienced photographers convinced me to choose Pentax.

Now having to choose the exact model - I am choosing from two models - Pentax KP and Pentax K-70.
Reading through the reviews for both cameras - they seem very similar to me (in theory KP should be better, but based on the reviews - this is not always the case), so I hope that you can point me in the right direction.