Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2018, 01:06 AM   #1

Upgrading: K3 or?

Hello Pentaxians! So I've been using my trusty K50 for a few years but am feeling like I really need an upgrade for more megapixels and especially for better low light performance.

I've had my heart set on the K1 for awhile but it's not in the budget just yet (but I really want to go FF so will in a year or two).

I mainly do documentary photography with a lot of outdoorsy environmental portraits. Would it be better for me to a) get a K3 or K3ii b) KP or c) just keep saving for the K1? Will a K3 (or KP?) be enough of an upgrade from a K50 to be worth it? TIA for the advice -- I'm in a lot of photography groups but no one shoots Pentax

Examples of my work to give an idea of my requirements. I mainly use the FA 50mm 1.4 and 35mm 2.0 for lenses.
Ashley McMath (@ashleytheislander) ? Instagram photos and videos

09-02-2018, 01:24 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The K50 is still a very good camera. But yes, the K3, K3ii or KP would be an upgrade. Which one would depend on your budget and camera requirements. Built in flash or GPS are just a couple of differences to consider. The forum has a great comparison tool and be sure to check the in depth reviews.

Having said that, the K-1 is an amazing camera, but it does have a slightly larger form factor to consider. Plus, are you ready to spend money for full frame lenses?
09-02-2018, 01:31 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by twilhelm Quote
The K50 is still a very good camera. But yes, the K3, K3ii or KP would be an upgrade. Which one would depend on your budget and camera requirements. Built in flash or GPS are just a couple of differences to consider. The forum has a great comparison tool and be sure to check the in depth reviews.