Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-22-2008, 01:39 PM   #1

Customs duty - into US from Canada

I tried the US Customs website - too complicated for me.

Is there a simple rule, like one camera, under $1,000, no duty.

I've been ignoring offers from Canada because I don't know what duty I'll get stuck with. I did see one dealer ad that said "no duty" so there must a "window" there somewhere.

Would appreciate any help.

Jack Long

09-22-2008, 01:43 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
I'm no expert but I've heard that under NAFTA, photographic equipment is duty free, all you'd have to pay is any applicable taxes.

Recently I imported a DA*16-55 f2.8 and a K20D Body and neither garnered any duties, mind you that was from the US to Canada, so I don't know how it would work the other way around and whether there are actually any taxes that would be paid.

Maybe a phone call to your Customs office would give you a better idea.
09-22-2008, 02:02 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, here are a few basic rules:
  • Imported goods must be declared
  • Duty is ultimately the responsibility of the importer (that would be you).

Having said that, here are a few pertinent details (from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Web site):
  • Goods valued at over $200 are generally subject to duty.
  • Goods may enter the U.S. by mail for direct shipment to you if under $2000 value. Goods shipped by mail over $2000 value will be held by customs until you arrange formal entry. I am not sure, but I believe that duty for goods under $2000 may be assessed as part of the postage with the Canadian postal system serving as the customs broker.
  • Gifts enter duty free up to $100 value.

Steve

(P.S. Don't call me from jail if this proves to be incorrect! )

Last edited by stevebrot; 09-22-2008 at 02:47 PM.
09-22-2008, 02:05 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Leaf Fan Quote