Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-10-2018, 07:29 AM   #1

New to photography. Help me choose a pentax.

Hey guys. As stated in the title, i am an absolute beginner in photography. I want to try it out but also don't know if i will stick to it for a long term. So i want a good beginner camera to learn on, but also not drop a ton of money in it.
I will be buying used. So i need experienced users to help me choose one. Prices are in USD.
  • K-3 (449 in adorama , 398 in ebay)
  • K-5IIs (298 in ebay)
  • K-5 (239 in ebay)
  • K-S2 (278 in ebay)
The above are the available cameras for me to choose from .I will be shooting mostly landscape, portraits , astro and a bit of macro. Probably not much action . I know the lenses play a major part in photography so i want to know if the price of K-3 is justified compared to the price of K-5 (449 vs 239). Should i go for the best body or buy a better lens ? Or may be something in between ?
Any help is appreciated.

10-10-2018, 07:53 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Motikant Quote
Hey guys. As stated in the title, i am an absolute beginner in photography. I want to try it out but also don't know if i will stick to it for a long term. So i want a good beginner camera to learn on, but also not drop a ton of money in it.
I will be buying used. So i need experienced users to help me choose one. Prices are in USD.
  • K-3 (449 in adorama , 398 in ebay)
  • K-5IIs (298 in ebay)
  • K-5 (239 in ebay)
  • K-S2 (278 in ebay)
The above are the available cameras for me to choose from .I will be shooting mostly landscape, portraits , astro and a bit of macro. Probably not much action . I know the lenses play a major part in photography so i want to know if the price of K-3 is justified compared to the price of K-5 (449 vs 239). Should i go for the best body or buy a better lens ? Or may be something in between ?
Any help is appreciated.