Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2008, 01:17 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K20D or GX-20?

Okay, as a newbie I am trying to learn all I can, I also am in the market for another camera. I was looking at the K20D and stumbled onto the Samsung GX-20. They appear to be the same camera and even accept the Pentax lenses. My question is why? Why would somebody buy the Samsung instead of the Pentax? The price difference isn't huge, as a matter of fact at some places there is NO difference. I am just curious.

09-23-2008, 02:01 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I just asked the same thing not too long ago about the K10D and GX-10. Here's my take. Nikon and Canon are everywhere. Pentax is a great system offering great value compared to Nikon and Canon but not as many people know it. Samsung is simply a rebranded Pentax and even fewer people know it. That means that it's more likely that you can get K20D functionality with a Samsung label at a discount because people simply don't know. If you watch eBay for a couple of weeks, the Samsung prices are generally lower.

I went with the GX-10 for that very reason and was able to get the functionality I wanted at a discount.

The only problem is explaining to the Nikon and Canon crowd the value proposition of the Samsung label!

09-23-2008, 02:03 PM   #3

As far as I know the Pentax and Samsung systems also use different firmware, so there can be slight differences in functionality between the models..
09-23-2008, 02:04 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I have the Samsung GX20

I got it for near $300 less than the Pentax in the same store that was also on special

09-24-2008, 05:43 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums