Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2018, 02:08 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
RAW file format

I have a K20D, yes it still takes good photos I have been using it for the last 9 years!

So far I have been using the DNG format for all my images. The file size is ~23 MB. Just for the heck of it, I tried the PEF format today. Was surprised to see the file size to be ~16 MB! That's a huge saving in disk space, even more acute considering that I have thousands of images. Is there more information stored in the DNG? Or is the PEF format with better compression? More importantly, if I convert all the DNG files to PEF will I lose any information? If not, is there such a converter which can do this in a batch mode?

mj

10-29-2018, 02:32 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by mmjoshi Quote
That's a huge saving in disk space, even more acute considering that I have thousands of images
Are you kidding ? For every 10,000 raw files you will be saving 70,000 MB. Even usb flash drives can hold more than that these days.
10-29-2018, 02:39 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by pschlute Quote
Are you kidding ? For every 10,000 raw files you will be saving 70,000 MB. Even usb flash drives can hold more than that these days.
OK, agreed. But still why waste space if not gaining anything?
10-29-2018, 02:46 AM   #4
Pentaxian

PEF and DNG both use lossless compression. The difference in file size is down to differences in the compression methods used (I can't explain the maths of it, but there's bound to be someone here on the forum who can).