Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2018, 10:02 AM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Gallery
Hedging your bets, or how do I not stress about buying Pentax lenses?

I love Pentax. I've been shooting with their DSLRs for 12 years and I regret none of it... The ergonomics, interesting lenses, custom features and reliable quality are all things I still appreciate.

I have been feeling some stress about expanding my lens collection recently, though, because of the way that the industry seems to be changing so rapidly. My particular problem is that I love the DA limited lenses and would love to collect them all, but without even an aperture ring I can't imagine I could recoup much on them should the flow of APS-C Pentax cameras cease for whatever reason.

So, does anyone have any strategies for coping with this uncertainty? Have you bought into a second system? Do these kind of thoughts affect what you decide to buy?

(For the record, I am implying nothing about Pentax in particular, just that there seem to be an insane number of systems and mounts right now and it doesn't feel sustainable to me)

11-02-2018, 10:21 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

When I discovered that Pentax still exists , it was all about lenses. Now I feel limitations of Pentax modern glass compare Nikon or Canon, especially when Sigma and Tamron don't make new lenses for Pentax any more. But now I fell in love with Pentax cameras instead, specifically with full frame. Not ready to move, I'm going to re-shape my lens setup. For ultra wide must have for Milky Way, I think either FDA 15-30 f2.8, or Laowa 12mm prime. Seems like 15-30mm is better solution for the money than just fixed 12mm prime.

I have no choice but buying Tamron 70-200mm f2.8, the last version Tamron made for Pentax. Price and weight wise. Anything in between is covered with FA77mm , a few 50mm lenses, and Tamron macro 90mm.