Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 60 Likes Search this Thread
12-23-2018, 05:37 PM   #1

Deciding on a Pentax DSLR to buy

Hi all,

Seeking advice about buying a new DSLR.

I've been using a Nikon D40 for 13 years. It's been a good camera, a nice "low-end of the high-end" entryway to DSLR's. But I grew up using film, learning photography as a kid in the 70s/80s, using a Pentax K-1000 for years.

I enjoyed that classic film Pentax, and have a Pentax-enthusiast friend who has talked up the brand. So I'm inclined to "make the switch" from Nikon back to Pentax.

Thoughts & Questions:
  1. I would like to spend less than $1,000 on the body, so I can invest in lenses.
  2. The Pentax KP looks good. Who here has used it? What do you think of it?
  3. My main reason for upgrading my camera is to get a more modern camera body/imager (I've shot 200K+ photos on the Nikon), then invest in lenses to get better bokeh and better pixel depth.
  4. Who do you recommend buying it from? I live in Atlanta, where there's almost no camera stores anymore, so I'd like to buy online.
  5. Open to any input or thoughts you have about Pentax DSLR's in this price range in general; and in your input in the Pentax KP specifically (or another model you recommend more, if there is one).
Thanks in advance! Assume I don't know much about buying DSLR's - the more info you all give, the better. Thanks!

Last edited by ATLphotog; 12-24-2018 at 08:47 AM.
12-23-2018, 06:22 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Do you still have any old Pentax lenses?

The KP is a massive step-up from the D40. It is only $797 (body-only) at B&H at the moment. Along with Adorama, these are probably the two best on-line camera stores in the US.