Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2019, 03:56 AM - 1 Like   #61

Photos: Albums
Thanks for the OP, as a professional photographer it is important that your work is not compromised by the tools you use. Your explanation made perfect sense to me.

I am not a professional photographer, for me it is just a very amateur hobby, i'm only into it for the enjoyment it gives me.

Were I far younger than I am, I would be looking at Fujifilm or Sony and trying to keep up with their latest offerings, and would have long since sold my Pentax gear.

But I'm an oldie now and I'm far too heavily invested in Pentax and too long in the tooth to switch brands and start again. My favourite subjects are landscape, architecture, and my family and I'm massively enjoying what Pentax have to offer. Over the years I have gathered plenty of Pentax legacy lenses, most recently the A 85mm f1.4 and I get a lot of fun using these older lenses, the wide angle A series in particular.

Because the rate at which Pentax release new lenses is so slow, I have been able to purchase all the ones I wanted (and that's most of them!). Most recently I was lucky enough to get my hands on a Black Friday D FA* 50/1.4, the only lens I purchased in 2018. I limit myself to Pentax lenses and I am very happy with what I have.

Now, if I had switched to Fuji and/or Sony, or alternatively Cannon or Nikon, I would be broke, have way too much gear, and would be hankering after their latest and greatest new offerings. For me it would be very frustrating.

I know this is a perverse argument for sticking with Pentax, but it works for me and I am very happy with the limited range of Pentax gear that they offer.