Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 102 Likes Search this Thread
03-07-2019, 08:14 AM   #31
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by derekkite Quote
I started shooting with a K-5 and a 400mm manual focus lens. In some conditions I was able to get birds in flight. With the K3 I used autofocus and got many many very nice shots. My impression was that it lacked processing power; there was lots of information from the focus sensors and the metering array but it couldn't process it in a timely way. The K1 is about the same, a bit better. The Mark II is much better. It seems to have the processing power to react quickly enough. I'm taking birds in flight shots with the K1 II and the 150-450 with some assurance that I'll get something decent.

But it comes at a cost. I could get a full frame body with a huge array of focus points and very quick refresh rate for twice the money that I paid for the K1. And I could get an apsc body with the same characteristics for twice the money as I paid for the K3.

I see your shots and looking at mine. The quality is directly proportional to how close we manage to get to the subject. A pair of hip waders or a portable blind are likely to get me more keepers than twice as many photos of the same thing far away that a couple thousand dollars would get me.
Exactly.
A K-1 that nails the shot has higher IQ than any 18-24 MP sports camera no matter what it does.

The reason I got the better images that day with the otter, was I was willing to test the ice to get close.` I probalby would have had better images than they did shooting a K-x.

If you want a sports camera, buy a sports camera. But they don't do what a K-1 does for non-sports situations. This isn't a need for Pentax. There are plenty of sports camera out there. Because of the use of trickle down tech from the high end models of other companies they aren't even that expensive.