Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 14 Likes Search this Thread
04-24-2019, 03:37 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Quality of memory cards

All photographers aim to get pin sharp photos when they want them. To this end they buy the best cameras and lenses that they can afford. I have, maybe a naive question, about whether the memory cards used in DSLR's have any effect on image quality. I have been using a Sandisk 64 MP card for about 7-8 years and it has never let me down functionally. However, will a new memory card give me "sharper" photos? What say ye learned Pentaxians?

Last edited by psoo; 04-24-2019 at 03:40 PM. Reason: typo
04-24-2019, 03:41 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by psoo Quote
All photographers aim to get pin sharp photos when they want them. To this end they buy the best cameras and lenses that they can afford. I have, maybe a naive question, about whether the memory cards used in DSLR's have any effect on image quality. I have using a Sandisk 64 MP card for about 7-8 years and it has never let me down functionally. However, will a new memory card give me "sharper" photos? What say ye learned Pentaxians?
No. Different cards will offer different read / write speeds, and different levels of reliability (though all of the major manufacturers are excellent - just be sure to buy genuine cards). But they have no impact on image quality, since the data is stored digitally. So as long as it can be written and read, it will be the same regardless of the card used
04-24-2019, 03:49 PM   #3
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree but these articles might be helpful as well:

The Benefits of Fast SD Cards - Tutorial Videos | PentaxForums.com

Comprehensive SD Card Guide for Photographers - Articles and Tips | PentaxForums.com

Last edited by aslyfox; 04-24-2019 at 04:23 PM.
04-24-2019, 03:54 PM - 2 Likes   #4
Digitiser of Film