Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-06-2008, 11:04 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Upgrade?

Ok so I have been shooting with my k100d for almost 2 years now.

I have an opportunity to get a k10d with ~10,000 activations, as well as 2 batteries and an extra 2GB card for a decent price, my question is, is it worth the upgrade or should i continue saving the extra ~$600 and shoot for the k20d?

I mostly shoot outdoor but have been getting more and more into flash work

10-06-2008, 11:55 AM   #2
Pentaxian

What do you wish your camera did that it doesn't? This should help you find an answer.

It depends on the deal itself, of course. But I'm under the impression that money in general is better spent on lenses than bodies.
10-06-2008, 01:03 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bdery Quote
What do you wish your camera did that it doesn't? This should help you find an answer.

It depends on the deal itself, of course. But I'm under the impression that money in general is better spent on lenses than bodies.
Well I'd love a bigger sensor, and the ability to switch from single to continuous would be great for what I do. and the added fps would be great for motorsports (which i do a lot of)

I've got more lenses than I can use at this point. I need something with more options to stick behind it. I'm set on an upgrade, as im at ~18,000 activations, it and I like the at touch of the k10

My question is really...is the k20 worth the wait?
10-06-2008, 01:46 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Hi,
There is a good chance that you could use the K10D for a few months and sell it later for close to what you paid for it. By that time you will have saved some and the K20D will have gone down as well. Just a thought.

Dave

QuoteOriginally posted by bdery Quote

10-06-2008, 01:59 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster