Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2008, 10:49 PM   #1

M42 performance?

Hi,
I'm a noob obviously, and I came across this forum through research on DSLR's.
I'm a proud owner of 20 plus M42 lenses, everthing from Zeiss,Pentax,Fujinon,Chinon,Mamyia and a host of other glass. My problem is finding a good DSLR that handles M42 adapted lenses.

I undestand that the Canon DOS does a good job with the M42's, but I also heard that Pentax does a great job adapting the M42's. I was told to stay away from Nikon with these lenses.

What are your thoughts on the K10D or K20D handeling the M42 glass?

All comments will be GREATLY appreciated.

If anyone has any photos posted of images taken with M42 adapted lenses I would love to be linked to the area.

Thanks

10-07-2008, 11:06 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It's fantastic to use M42 lenses with Pentax. Metering with the green button in manual mode is super easy, and you can also use it in the other program modes as well.

Most importantly, on a Pentax you get shake reduction/image stabilization with ALL these old lenses. I recently shot handheld 1/5 sec with a 135mm f/3.5. You definitely can't do that with Canon or Nikon, none of which have in-body image stabilization. It's a huge plus.
10-07-2008, 11:24 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Image stabilized Jupiter 9.
10-08-2008, 12:10 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Pentax is probably your best option.

(1) The flange focal distance of the m42 mount and pentax K mount are identical. The Pentax Adapter K just provides a screw thread -- the m42 lens rests directly on the K mount flange, so there are no tolerance issues to worry about.

The adapter stays in the body while changing between m42 lenses.

Olympus OM and Nikon F have a greater flange focal distance, requiring an adaptor with optics to get infinity focus.

(2) You get focus confirmation. (AFAIK Canon EF-mount bodies require electronics in the adapter to provide this).